Skip to Content



There is no limit to the number of members who may join one of the Standing Committees below. The majority of these meetings occur over the lunch hour, set by the Chair. Tasks may be big or small, depending on the committee and the time you have to commit. If you would like more information about any of our Standing Committees, please contact the Chair.

Constitution & Bylaws
Chair: Vice President,Meg Perinpanayagam.
The Constitution & Bylaws Committee reviews, and recommends changes to the Constitution and Bylaws. It accepts suggestions from Stewards Council, Association Members, and the Executive Committee for consideration. Recommendations are submitted in writing to Stewards Council and if approved, are put forth to the membership for discussion and vote.

Education and Training Committee
Chair: President, John Critchley.
The Education and Training Committee develops and proposes procedures for expenditures of the Education and Training budget to the Executive and
investigates and proposes programs and policies which will advance the educational and training needs and interests of the Association membership.

Chair: Treasurer, James Taron
The Finance Committee develops short-term and long-term budgetary plans for the union, reviews monthly profit and loss statements, and recommends operating funds to be approved by Executive Committee, Stewards Council and the Membership at the end of each fiscal year (May 1 - April 30). The Finance Committee also meets with the union's financial advisors on investment portfolios and establishes procedures for payment distribution in the event of a strike.

Health & Safety
Chair: Health & Safety Officer, Cleusa De Oliveira
The Health & Safety Committee is ad hoc committee, and its role is to maintain a watching brief on health and safety issues which affect the membership, and investigate questions and complaints arising from members concerning health and safety matters.

Membership, Newsletter & Social
Co-Chairs: Membership Services Officer,Natalie Samuel and the Vice President, Meg Perinpanayagam
The role of the Committee is to explore and propose programs and policies which will advance the educational, social and cultural interests of the Association membership and publish the Newsletter of the Association.

Chair: Vice President, Meg Perinpanayagam.
The Negotiations Committee meets regularly during the year prior to the end of the current Collective Agreement. The Committee collects information using surveys from members regarding issues pertinent to contract negotiations, preparing monetary and non-monetary briefs for the negotiators, and assisting the negotiating team during the process.

Strike Preparedness
Captain: Lori Johnson.
The Strike Preparedness Committee (SPC) is responsible for overall coordination of strike planning and implementation, including the set-up of strike headquarters, and all materials for the picket lines such as signs, cell phones, and refreshments. The SPC develops a communications strategy and coordinates communication including handouts for the picket-line, strike newsletters and bulletins, including the website and social media pages. The SPC identifies the locations of the picket lines, organizes the schedules for pickets, arranges strike captain and picketer training, monitors the picket lines and provides daily reports to the Chair of the Strike Preparedness Committee.